Dad-ing, opinion

Book Club: 2024 Summer Must-Reads

It’s almost Spring, and that means – Summer is coming in hot, perfect for finding a shady spot and immersing yourself in a great book while everything else can wait.

simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

There are some fantastic stories, non-fiction, and wild rides on their way, and you know I’ve got the hot news.

Spring 2024 New Books

The Antique Hunter’s Guide to Murder – A Novel by C. L. Miller (On Sale: 02/06/24)
A former antique hunter investigates the suspicious death of her estranged mentor at an isolated English manor and is drawn back into the dangerous world of repatriating stolen artifacts in this irresistible mystery debut for fans of Richard Osman.

simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

DIALED IN: DO YOUR BEST WHEN IT MATTERS MOST by Dana Sinclair (HC, on sale January 2, 2024): What do Jamie Lee Curtis, Billie Jean King and Don Mattingly all have in common? They were coached by performance psychologist Dana Sinclair. For readers of Atomic Habits and Grit, Dana is a top performance psychologist who has coached elite athletes, surgeons, and business leaders, and in this book, she shares her proven plan for getting the best results when the pressure is on. Dialed In is simple, smart, and effective—just like having your own performance coach in your back pocket.

o   What I thought: To this day, I am still using techniques in my everyday life that I learned in this book. Don’t wait; read it now and start feeling better about your performance in life today!

o   Author location: Toronto, ON

o   Comps: The Talen Code by Daniel Coyle, Atomic Habits by James Clear, Tools of Titans by Timothy Ferriss

o   Genre: Shelf-help, personal growth, success, business & economics, leadership

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

CULTURES OF GROWTH by Mary C. Murphy (HC, on-sale March 12, 2024): Award-winning social psychologist Mary Murphy offers a groundbreaking reconsideration of individual and team success—showing how to create and sustain a growth mindset in any organization’s culture. The protégé of Carol Dweck, author of the massive bestseller Mindset, Murphy shows how mindset works in teams. Poised to enter the public arena as a thought leader, Murphy offers her decade’s worth of original research and what she’s uncovered about mindset consulting, from large Fortune 500 companies and global leaders to Silicon Valley startups and founders, including her work with the Gates Foundation, Apple, Microsoft, Facebook, Twitter, and many more.

o   Author location: Indiana & California

o   Comps: Mindset by Carol Dweck, Grit by Angela Duckworth, The Culture Code by Daniel Coyle

o   Genre: Business & economics, leadership

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

SOCIOPATH by Patric Gagne (HC, on sale April 2, 2024): With a PhD in clinical psychology, this is a fascinating, revelatory memoir revealing the author’s struggle to come to terms with her own sociopathy and shed light on the often maligned and misunderstood mental disorder. This is the inspiring story of her journey to change her fate and how she managed to build a life full of love and hope.

o   What I thought: A relaxing and enlightening reading experience that has shown the need to give more love to all people on the mental health spectrum.

o   Author location:

o   Comps: Brain on Fire by Susannah Calahan, Blackout by Sarah Hepola

sociopath, cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

THE LAND OF LOST THINGS by John Connolly: (out now) Internationally bestselling author of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS (2007), Connolly returns with a masterful sequel, THE LAND OF LOST THINGS. With a whole new cast of characters that must confront their darkest fears and most cherished dreams, readers will enter a strange realm that blurs the boundaries between fantasy and reality.

o   Genre: Thriller, suspense, literary, fantasy

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

THE MOST SECRET MEMORY OF MEN by Mohamed Mbougar Sarr (out now!): Publishing for the first time in English, the winner of France’s most prestigious Prix Goncourt in 2021—equivalent to the Pulitzer—THE MOST SECRET MEMORY OF MEN is an ode to literature and its timelessness. Mohamed Mbougar Sarr is the first author from sub-Saharan African to win the French award and one of the youngest at only thirty-one. He has plans to tour Canada this fall (details to be announced).

o   Genre: Literary fiction, awarding-winning fiction

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

Summer 2024 New Books

THE RETURN OF ELLIE BLACK by Emiko Jean (on sale May 7, 2024):  The thrillers of Megan Miranda (All the Missing Girls) meets HBO’s Mare of Eastown (starring Kate Winslet) in a novel about small-town detective Chelsey Calhoun, whose life is turned upside-down when she gets the call that a girl who disappeared years earlier has mysteriously resurfaced in the woods of Washington state, giving Chelsey the chance to finally solve the cold case that has never stopped haunting her.

o   CompsFoe by Iain Reid, The Search Party by Hannah Richell, You Belong To Me by Mary Higgins Clark

o   GenrePsychological suspense, thriller, women’s fiction

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

SWIFT RIVER by Essie Chambers (on sale June 4, 2024): Debut! A tender and irreverently funny novel by a major new literary talent, SWIFT RIVER is a revelatory debut about mothers and daughters, a missing father, and the long-hidden history of a declining New England mill town. Not to be missed.

o   Comps: The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett, Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson, We Are Not Like Them by Christine Pride

o   Genre: Literary, coming of age

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

BAD TOURISTS by Caro Carver (on sale July 9, 2024): Commercial female suspense with a mind-blowing twist for readers of Lucy Foley (The Paris Apartment) and Ruth Ware (The It Girl). Three tight-knit friends in their forties embark on an extravagant divorce trip to the Maldives, where they can unwind and celebrate a fresh new chapter in life—until they realize the resort of their dreams is harbouring a killer. Recently optioned for TV development.

o   Comps: Writing Retreat by Julia Bartz, None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell, It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

o   Genre: Thriller, psychological suspense

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

FIRE & BONES by Kathy Reichs (on sale August 6, 2024): #1 New York Times bestselling author Kathy Reichs returns with a twisty, surprise-packed thriller featuring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan, who finds herself at the center of an arson investigation, a deepening mystery, and a stunning culmination of violence and deception. This is the series that inspired the TV show Bones. If you haven’t dipped into this series yet, each can be read as a stand-alone, and trust me, this series will end up being your next reading binge.

o   Comps: Louise Penny, Paula Hawkins, Daniel Silva, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter

o   GenreMystery & detective, suspense, thriller

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

THE QUEEN by Nick Cutter (on sale August 27, 2024): Nick Cutter is fast becoming one of Canada’s top horror authors, with high praise from Stephen King to Chuck Palahniuk. His signature combination of comedy, horror and the use of societal satire makes him stand out in the genre. The novel has been packaged with a stunning retro-inspired jacket to harken back to classic 80s horror paperbacks but with a chilling modern flair. Perfect for Stranger Things fans, The Queen masterfully speaks to the public fear and fascination with the dangerous possibilities of genetic engineering and governmental secrets. Note: Cutter’s modern horror classic The Troop currently has a feature film adaptation in development, produced by James Wan (SawInsidiousThe Conjuring).

o   Comps: Stephen King, Chuck Palahniuk,  

o   GenreHorror, suspense, thriller

cultures of growth, simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

Find me on Goodreads!

simon and schuster, booktok, trending books, top new books, best sellers, 2024 summer books, socialdad, book club,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.